While on the porch of Fountain Elms more than 75 years ago, Frederick, Thomas, and Maria Proctor agreed that arts and culture are the foundation of a great community. In order to lay that foundation, they established a financial plan that provided the initial funding for Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute upon Maria’s death in 1935.

The Institute has established The Fountain Elms Society to seek out, engage and recognize those families and individuals who share the Proctors’ passion for arts and culture in our community.

Charter membership in The Fountain Elms Society is open to all who choose to provide support to the Institute of $1,000 or more each year, or anyone making a monthly pledge to the Institute of $85 or more, payable on any major credit card. In addition to enhancing the financial stability of MWPAI and providing important support to our ongoing programs, members of the Society enjoy special access and privileges.

As a member of MWPAI’s Fountain Elms Society you recognize the important role that the Institute plays in the quality of life for all residents of our region. To explore how your generosity can add to this amazing legacy, please contact our development office at (315) 797-0000, ext. 2129.

MWPAI recognizes and sincerely thanks the members of the Fountain Elms Society 2014 and Fountain Elms Sponsors.

Membership Benefits

Membership benefits include reciprocal privileges at many museums throughout North America, discounts to most Institute programs, unlimited free admission to special ticketed exhibitions, and invitations to at least four events solely for Fountain Elms Society members each year.

During 2014, those events will include an escorted coach trip to museums in Pennsylvania and New Jersey, an exclusive preview of our major summer exhibition, The Golden Age of European Painting, and our traditional Victorian Holiday celebration. At musical events, members can enjoy complimentary drinks and snacks. Members are also invited to a curator-guided “behind the scenes” tour of one of our museum buildings and art storage facility for a group of up to ten family members, friends, and colleagues.


Current Members of The Fountain Elms Society

Ruth E. Bice
Gilbert & Ildiko Butler
David & Janet Griffith
Dr. & Mrs. Raouf Kodsy
Evelyn Pousette-Dart
Francis J. & Ruth Pugliese
$5,000 to $9,999 
Ms. Bette Y. Bloom
Michael D. and Kate Cominsky
Daniel Cominsky
Dr. Douglas Hurd & Dr. Cynthia Parlato-Hurd
Mary McLean Evans
George A. Hambrecht & Andrea Fahnestock
Mr. & Mrs. Christopher J. Kelly
$2,500 to $4,999 
Vige E. Barrie & Dr. James Frederick
Dr. William L. Boyle, Jr.
Joseph & Michelle Corasanti
Dorian & Steven Critelli
Charles H. Duncan & Rachel A. Dressler
Richard & Constance Griffith
Donna Harkavy & Jonathan Price
Steven & Monica Kowalsky Family
Mark & Wendy Levitt
William F. Locke
F. X. III & Pamela G. Matt
Anthony & Mariann Spiridigloizzi
Alan & Linda Vincent
$1,000 to $2,499 
Joseph A. Abraham
John J. Bach, Jr.
Stephen W. Barth & Denise Hash
Dr. Sidney & Dr. Susan Blatt
Florence C. Bourdon
John C. Brown
Mr. Jeff Branstedt
Mr. & Mrs. Joseph S. Caldwell III
Gerard T. Capraro & Barbara J. Galvin
Dr. Rand Carter
Eugene & Connie N. Corasanti
Linda Cox & Robert Heins
Ronald & Sheila Cuccaro
Anna & Paul D'Ambrosio
Mr. & Mrs. Michael Damsky
Richard & Barbara Decker
Mr. & Mrs. Frederick C. Degen
Susan W. & B. Lees Divine
Mr. & Mrs. G. Leiter Doolittle
Ronald F. Draper, Jr.
Stan Friedman & Dr. Eileen Friedman
Karl & Leslie Gabosh
Hon. & Mrs. Anthony J. Garramone
Anna S. Giacobbe & Peter Welge
David & Sharon Goldenson
Mr. & Mrs. Bartle J. Gorman
Ronald P. & Cecelia A. Gouse
Tyler Griffith
Gary & Bonnie Grossman
J. K. & Hedy Anne Hage
Joyce Day Homan
Chip & Judy Hummel
Betty Krulik
Elizabeth R. Lemieux, Ph.D.
Rona Lucas
Dr. & Mrs. Theodore C. Max
John & Catherine McEnroe
Bob Mortis & Brooke Thormahlen

$1,000 to $2,499 cont.
Cathy Newell, Rick, Avery & Blake Walters
Dr. Kenneth Novak & Dr. Ellen Blum
Theresa M. Palmiero
Mike and Kelly Parsons
Brian Potasiewicz
Mark Potasiewicz
Albert Pylinski
Linda Romano & Russell Petralia
Alice Root & John Dahlin
Vincent J. Rossi, Esq.
John & Deanna Sammon
Paul D. Schweizer, Ph.D. & Barbara Lyon
Dr. Nancy A. Shaheen & Kirk A. Evans
Barry Sinnot
Tom E. Sinnott
Robert & Sheila Smith
Elizabeth & John Snyder
Dr. & Mrs. Thomas F. Spath
Grace Spencer
Michael Stein & Doris Motta
Mr. & Mrs. John B. Stetson
Tara Sumner & Ted Ford
Lisa & George Walchusky
Stephen L. & Lynn Walthall
Mrs. Li-Hsien Wang
Martha & Richard Widdicombe
Foundations and Corporate Sponsors $1,000 and Above
Adirondack Financial Services Corporation
Bank of Utica
Black River Systems Co., Inc.
The Gilbert & Ildiko Butler Family Foundation, Inc.
Caruso McLean & Co., Inc.
Central Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired
Citizens Bank
Ronald & Sheila Cuccaro Family Fund of The Community Foundation of Herkimer & Oneida Counties, Inc.
Excellus BlueCross BlueShield
Eye Associates of Utica
Gilroy Kernan & Gilroy 
PJ Green Advertising Service, Inc.
M. Griffith Investment Services, Inc.
Key Bank
F. X. Matt II Foundation
M&T Bank
MetLife Foundation
Meyda Lighting
National Grid
Prime Buchholz & Associates, Inc.
The James C. O'Shea Family Fund of The Community Foundation of Herkimer & Oneida Counties, Inc.
Joan B. & William F. O'Shea Family Fund of The Community Foundation of Herkimer & Oneida Counties, Inc.
Sturges Manufacturing, Inc.
Sunithi Bajekal Charitable Trust
Trainor Associates
Utica First Insurance Company
Government Support
Empire State Development Division of Tourism Market NY Funds, with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature
Institute of Museum and Library Services
Mohawk Valley Regional Economic Development Council
National Endowment for the Arts
National Endowment for the Humanities
New York State Council on the Arts